Four Neubauer Fellows, Including Three Cohort 8 Fellows, Honored with Lindback Awards for Distinguished Principals

Philadelphia Academy of School Leaders is proud to share that four Neubauer Fellows, including three from Cohort 8, are among the seven individuals who received the 2024 Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals.

This prestigious award, facilitated by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation, celebrates educators who demonstrate excellence in promoting learning at the highest levels, honoring principals who make significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their school communities.

The Neubauer Fellows honored with the 2024 Lindback Award are:

  • Khadijah Bright, Kennedy C. Crossan School (2018 Neubauer Fellow/Cohort 4)
  • Bahir Hayes, William C. Bryant School (2024 Neubauer Fellows/Cohort 8)
  • Rich Mitchell, William W. Bodine High School for International Affairs (2024 Neubauer Fellows/Cohort 8)
  • Khary Moody, James R. Ludlow Elementary School (2024 Neubauer Fellows/Cohort 8

PASL also celebrates Instructional Leadership Academy participant Torrence Rothmiller, Principal at Andrew Hamilton Elementary, as a 2024 Lindback Award winner.

Recipients were nominated by a school-based committee of students, teachers, and parents and receive a $20,000 award to be used in their school community.

“Winning the Lindback Award means that my community sees the work that I’m doing, that they see the vision. It makes me proud to be a part of this community who saw in me what I see for them.”
Khadijah Bright
Kennedy C. Crossan School
2018 Neubauer Fellow/Cohort 4

Since the award’s inception in 2011, 45 Neubauer Fellows have received a Lindback Award. Notably, Neubauer Fellows make up 27% of sitting principals in Philadelphia but they represent 46% of all Lindback Award recipients.

We are proud to celebrate each of these principals who have had a profound impact on their school communities.

We invite you to hear more from each Lindback Award winner, including personal reflections on the honor and how they intend to utilize the $20,000 stipend to give back to their school communities, in this video.

You can also read more in the Philadelphia Inquirer’s announcement.